Letters to Santa: Agatha Christie

 

We continue to look at letters to Santa from some of our favorite crime fiction characters with notes from two of Agatha Christie’s most charming sleuths.

9780062074010My dearest Monsieur Santa,

I am writing to you on behalf of my employer, the esteemed London private investigator Hercule Poirot. What follows is a list of items he wishes to be delivered on the evening of 24 December:

  • Gentleman’s Finest brand moustache wax, shade “midnight”
  • Edouard Pinaud brand brilliantine hair tonic
  • Pouch of pipe tobacco from Huis Windels in Brussels
  • Black bowler from Bates of Jermyn Street

Respectfully yours,

Felicity Lemon

Secretary to Monsieur Hercule Poirot

Dear Santa,

I find myself in need of a few items that I haven’t been able to find in St. Mary Mead and am hoping you might see fit to gift them to me this Christmas.

First, I would like a new, higher-powered pair of binoculars as it’s becoming increasingly difficult to spot the local bird species (I’m not a young woman, you know).

I would also like some Irish wool in a medium shade of blue—enough to knit an afghan for my companion Cherry Baker. Some new knitting needles would be a treat as well.

Finally, I would like the latest version of “The Great British Gardening Guide” by Jenny Uglow.

Thank you and Merry Christmas!

Miss Jane Marple, St. Mary Mead

Among the many volumes featuring Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot to be found on our shelves, we recommend Hercule Poirot’s Christmas, Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories, and The 4:50 from Paddington

Leave a Reply

