Bouchercon Recap, Part 2: New Author Breakfast

– Post by MysteryPeople Contributor Meike Alana

Recently I had the opportunity to attend Bouchercon, the world’s largest convention of mystery readers and writers.  Between Crime Fiction Coordinator Scott Montgomery and Director of Suspense Molly Odintz, I was the most seasoned (OK, I was the oldest) member of the BookPeople team in attendance, so I think I was the only one vertical at breakfast time.  Thus I was lucky enough to attend the New Author Breakfast and learned about some exciting new talents to watch for.  Here are just a few names and titles:

  • Matthew Betley – Over Watch:  Former Marine officer Betley introduces unyielding Marine Logan West in this action-packed, globe-trotting, edge-of-your-seat debut thriller.
  • Susan Alice Bickford – A Short Time to Die:  Two women from opposite sides of the country find their lives inextricably bound by a murderous quest for revenge. A Short Time to Die comes out this upcoming January!
  • Grant Bywaters – The Red Storm:  Winner of the Minotaur Books/Private Eye Writers of America Best First Private Eye Novel Competition introducing a black ex-boxer PI working in 1930’s New Orleans.
  • Ross Carley – Dead Drive:  Set in Indianapolis, this well-crafted mystery showcases protagonist Wolf Ruger, a single Iraqi vet, investigating foul play in the high- technology industry. 
  • Dana Chamblee Carpenter – Bohemian Gospel:  Set against the historical reign of the Golden and Iron King, this riveting debut follows an unusual girl’s quest to discover her past and define her destiny.
  • Bruce Robert Coffin – Among the Shadows:  With the last name “Coffin,” Bruce was destined to draw on his many years of law enforcement experience to write this first installment in the John Byron mystery series.

  • Marla Cooper – Terror in Taffeta:  Former Austinite (and Bookpeople customer!) has crafted this comedic and exciting escapade of murder at a destination wedding.
  • Susan Cox – The Man on the Washing Machine:  With the most unusual title of the bunch, this mystery tells the tale of a British transplant to San Francisco who must solve a murder surrounded by an eclectic bunch of friends and acquaintances. Infused with humor, this complex and multi-layered tale won the Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Award.
  • Shaun Harris – The Hemingway Thief:  This one was already on our radar here at Bookpeople—check out our review of the hilarious misadventures of the hapless Henry “Coop” Cooper over at the MysteryPeople blog.
  • LS Hawker – Body & Bone: A hard-hitting, fast-paced thriller featuring a music blogger who has been framed for her husband’s disappearance and presumed murder.
  • David Krugler – The Dead Don’t Bleed: In this gripping WWII mystery set in Washington, DC a young naval intelligence officer goes undercover to solve a murder and prevent the Soviets from stealing the secrets of America’s atomic bomb project.
  • David McCaleb – Recall: This smart and well-plotted thriller features  suburban dad Red Harmon, former elite member of a secretive special forces team who must come to terms with a past he’s tried to leave behind.
  • Sean McDaniel – Criminal Zoo:  Inhabitants of the titular Criminal Zoo are the most depraved convicted criminals; visitors to the Zoo are permitted to exact revenge in the form of torture.  A dark, twisted, and deeply compelling read but not for the faint of heart.
  • Julie McElwain – Murder in Time:  Brilliant FBI agent Kendra Donovan time travels to a 19th century English Castle under threat from a vicious serial killer and scrambles to solve the case before she loses her life—200 years before she was born.
  • Nadine Nettman – Decanting a Murder:  Sommelier Nettman has created a fast, sophisticated mystery filled with amusing characters, snappy dialogue, and just enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing.  Each chapter includes a wine pairing (which I am taking quite literally, and drinking each recommendation while I read).
  • Renee Patrick – Design for Dying:  Renee Patrick is the pseudonym for married authors Rosemarie and Vince Keenan.  Set in Hollywood’s Golden Age, this delightful romp pairs protagonist Lillian Frost with famed costume designer Edith Head.
  • Nancy Raven Smith – Land Sharks:  Bank fraud investigator Lexi Winslow must travel to Sumatra to retrieve her wealthy employer’s spoiled daughter, who disappeared shortly after her roommate was found dead.
  • Erik Storey – Nothing Short of Dying:  Clyde Barr has been on the run for 16 years.  He has returned to the Colorado wilderness for peace and quiet, which is disrupted when he receives a frantic call from his sister and the line goes dead.  Eagerly anticipated debut thriller for fans of Lee Child and Jeffery Deaver.
  • Suzanne Trauth – Show Time:  Dodie O’Dell owns a small town diner that serves dinners themed around the community theater’s latest production.  When a well-respected member of the theater troupe is found murdered, Dodie helps the (available and attractive) Chief of Police with his investigation.
Advertisements

One thought on “Bouchercon Recap, Part 2: New Author Breakfast

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s