Crime Fiction Friday: “The Graveyard Shift” by Tom Leins

 

MysteryPeople_cityscape_72

  • Introduced by Crime Fiction Coordinator Scott Montgomery

Lately it seems that Britain and hard boiled fiction go together. I don’t know if it’s the grey, rainy weather or the bad-ass working class accents, but British writers sure make it work. Here is a rising voice from across the pond, Tom Leins, who I discovered as part of Akashic’s Mondays are Murder series. If you like his brand of English nastiness, you can find more of it at his website, Things To Do In Devon when You’re Dead. 


“The Graveyard Shift” by Tom Leins

“The grave is waist-deep when the cramps start. I feel them spasm up my arms and across my shoulders as the shovel slams into rock-solid earth. This far down, it is packed hard, like concrete.

I glance over my shoulder at the ravaged-looking figure in the wheelchair. Maxwell Grinley has the glum look of a man who has outlived most of his vices and desires. The only thing he wants now is to see me dead. I don’t blame him—I was the one who put him in the chair.

He starts to cough noisily and greedily sucks oxygen into his ruined lungs from the cylinder balanced across his legs.

That is on me, too…”

Read the rest of the story.

2 thoughts on “Crime Fiction Friday: “The Graveyard Shift” by Tom Leins

Leave a Reply

