Mysterypeople and Sisters in Crime Welcome Rhys Bowen to Austin

Rhys Bowen joins us here at BookPeople this Saturday, March 12th, at 3 PM, to speak and sign her latest Molly Murphy mystery, Time of Fog and Fire

On Sunday, March 13, Bowen will be guest speaker at the Sisters in Crime Heart of Texas Chapter meeting, beginning 2:00 p.m. at the Yarborough Branch of the Austin Public Library. 

For the Rhys Bowen enthusiast, the Murder in the Afternoon Book Club will discuss her novel City of Darkness and Light on Monday, March 15th, at 1 PM on BookPeople’s third floor. All of these events are free and open to the public. 

  • Guest Post from Kathy Waller of Sisters in Crime

9781250052049Thanks to a grant from Sisters in Crime, an international organization dedicated to promoting the advancement, recognition and professional development of women crime writers, New York Times best-selling author Rhys Bowen will visit Austin March 12-13. She’ll be at BookPeople on March 12th at 3 PM, and will speak at the Sisters in Crime Chapter meeting the following day at 2PM at the Yarborough Branch of the Austin Public Library.

Bowen’s highly popular mystery series—the Evan Evans mysteries, the Molly Murphy mysteries, and the Her Royal Spyness mysteries—have garnered a string of awards including the Agatha, Reviewer’s Choice, Herodotus, Lefty (Bruce Alexander Memorial), Anthony, Freddy, Macavity, Arty, Lovey, and Audie Awards, and too many nominations to mention.

A native of Great Britain, Bowen began her professional writing career at the age of 22, when the British Broadcasting Company, where she worked as a drama studio manager, produced a play she’d written. After a stint with the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, she and her husband moved to California, where she began writing picture books for children and then YA novels under her real name, Janet Quin-Harkin. Her first picture book won several awards, and her first young adult novel was an instant success.

Bowen is best-known, however, for her award-winning mysteries.

The Evan Evans series, launched in 1997 with Evans Above, is set in North Wales, a region Rhys, who is half Welsh, knows well from vacationing there as a child. Its hero, Evan Evans, is constable in a small town in the mountains. The second book in the series was nominated for a Barry Award, and the eighth, Evan’s Gate, was nominated for the Edgar, the most prestigious award in the mystery genre.

Bowen conceived the idea for the Molly Murphy mysteries, set at the turn of the century, during a visit to Ellis island. In Murphy’s Law (2001), heroine Molly Murphy commits murder in self defense and flees Ireland for the United States, only to find herself implicated in a murder on Ellis Island. Alone in a strange country, she escapes Ellis Island, determined to find the killer and clear her name. Murphy’s Law won four awards, including the Agatha for best novel. Fourteen more novels, along with more awards and nominations, followed. The sixteenth, Time of Fog and Fire (March 2016), finds Molly, now a private investigator, in San Francisco, working to carry out an assignment official law enforcement can’t handle, while not knowing why she’s been called upon to help.

The Her Royal Spyness mysteries, Rhys’ third series, follows the adventures of Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie—Lady Georgiana, for short—daughter to the Duke of Atholt and Rannoch, 34th in line to the throne, flat broke in 1930s Great Britain, but unable to work for her living (the queen would not approve). In the first book, Her Royal Spyness (2007), the queen “asks” Lady Georgiana to spy on the Prince of Wales, who appears much too interested in a certain American woman (with husband in tow). But first Lady Georgiana must deal with the Frenchman she finds drowned in the bathtub of the family home in London. (The queen would definitely not approve, and the police don’t either). Her Royal Spyness won the Agatha Award for best historical novel, and the series has received two Lovey Awards. The latest book, Malice at the Palace (2015) won the Lefty Award for Best Historical Mystery Novel and was nominated for the Agatha Award for Best Historical Mystery.

In addition to novels, Bowen also writes short stories. In May and June of 2016, she will teach a workshop in Writing Mystery and Suspense in Tuscany.

On Sunday, March 13, Bowen will be guest speaker at the Sisters in Crime Heart of Texas Chapter meeting, 2:00 p.m. at the Yarborough Branch of the Austin Public Library, 2200 Hancock Drive, Austin 78756. Admission is free, and the public is invited.

Rhys Bowen joins us at BookPeople to speak and sign her latest Molly Murphy Mystery on Saturday, March 12th, at 3 PM. The speaking portion of the event is free and open to the public, and we have copies of Bowen’s latest available for purchase for those who would like to join the signing line. You can find copies of Bowen’s latest on our shelves and via

One thought on “Mysterypeople and Sisters in Crime Welcome Rhys Bowen to Austin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s