Crime Fiction Friday: “Killing The Quails” by Patrick Cooper

MysteryPeople_cityscape_72

Another new writer for the new year, Patrick Cooper, has already written pieces for Spinetingler and Out Of The Gutter. Here is a tight little piece from Shotgun Honey with a first sentence that hooks you and a last one that’s hard to forget.


“Killing The Quails” by Patrick Cooper


“I’ve killed Curtis Quail five times now. Six if you count the one at the flooded quarry. That was more of an accident. I meant to shoot him but he escaped down the edge of the quarry and wound up drowning. I got paid for that one, yeah, but in my heart I can’t really take credit for it. So five times. I’ve killed Curtis Quail five times…”

Read the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

