Crime Fiction Friday: “Ceiling Fan In My Spoon” by Brian Panowich

MysteryPeople_cityscape_72

Anybody who has stepped into the store recently has heard me rave about Brian Panowich’s debut novel Bull Mountain. Brian is a former musician and the book has as much in common with Johnny Cash and Steve Earle as it does with his literary influences. Signed copies of Bull Mountain are available on our shelves and via bookpeople.com. This story, featured in Shotgun Honey, has all the feel of a dark country murder ballad.

“Ceiling Fan In My Spoon” by Brian Panowich

“I’ve been here fourteen years.

Today’s the day.  Sammy brought me a steak.  He’s a pretty good guy, I hope he gets the fuck outta here before this place kills him on the inside.

I deserve to be here. Day in, day out, twenty-three hours in this box, and thirty minutes in the yard.  I did the math once, it added up to a hundred and six days of daylight.  Less than a year of fresh air to show for my adult life.  I never complained though, like I said, I deserve to be here.  I killed a little girl.  A beautiful little eight-year-old girl named Stacy.  I know she was beautiful from her pictures in the paper and the photos they showed in court.  I shot her and her old man point blank with a shotgun loaded with double aught buck.  I don’t remember doing it, but I’ve heard the playback so many times over the past fourteen years of courtroom reenactments that I can recite every detail…”

Read the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

