Crime Fiction Friday: JOLIE BLON by Billy Kring

crime sceneBilly Kring is known as an author with a feel for life on the Texas-Mexico line where he worked as a border agent. His debut, Quick, captured it in all it’s gritty glory. In this story published on Shotgun Honey, he goes to Cajun country.

“Jolie Blon” by Billy Kring

“Henri Arceneaux said, ‘Member what I teach you, you.’ He straddled the body in the bottom of the pirogue, making the small, green boat bob like a cork, ‘We want dem to stay down, so we gots to tickle dem diaphragm.’ He was seventy years old and shirtless, his chest and stomach marked with old scars from knife and bullet. He looked hard, like he was made of gristle and bone. He motioned at me with a finger, ‘Take off dat shirt, it’s too hot dis morning.'”

Click here to read the full story.

One thought on “Crime Fiction Friday: JOLIE BLON by Billy Kring

  1. Though I’m lacking the time just now, what I’ve seen has me caught, and I’ll let you know what I thought as soon as I get the chance to give this piece the attention I’m thinking it deserves. See you then.

Leave a Reply

