Chris’ Top 5 Books of 2013 (so far)

2013 has been a great year for crime fiction, and the year isn’t over yet. Below are my 5 favorite books of the year thus far.

The Redeemer by Jo Nesbo

The 6th novel in the stellar Harry Hole series may have taken its sweet time getting to American bookstores, but it was well worth the wait. Falling in line between The Devil’s Star and The Snowman, The Redeemer is a story about a hitman (know only as The Little Redeemer) who accidentally takes out the wrong target. Dedicated to completing his mission, he suffers the pains of being a stranger in a strange land while Harry and the Oslo PD are hot on his trail.

The Hard Bounce by Todd Robinson

Boo and Junior are not your average private investigators, as a matter of fact they’re not private investigators at all, but when a girl goes missing they are her only hope of rescue. Todd Robinson knocks it out of the park and into the stratosphere with his mixture of hard boiled action, wit, humor, and just a dash of tenderness. The Hard Bounce is required reading.

Gun Machine by Warren Ellis

Warren Ellis is best know for his critically acclaimed comic book work, but he is also a ridiculously talented novelist. In Gun Machine, his second novel, Ellis takes the tried-and-true police procedural formula and turns it upside down. When a shootout in an apartment building leaves Detective John Tallow without a partner he doesn’t think his day can get any worse, but then the police stumble upon an apartment literally filled with guns. Now it’s up to Tallow to find a killer who’s been stalking the streets of New York City for over two decades.

The Eye of God by James Rollins

James Rollins writes badass adventure novels in the vein of Doc Savage and Indiana Jones, and his Sigma Force series has quickly become the go-to for many fans of the genre, myself included. Imagine if Ian Flemming wrote an Indiana Jones story and get the idea. Rollins stories are a rollercoaster ride filled with exotic locations, Bond-style villains, and more action then you think you can handle. Pick up The Eye of God and see what all the fuss is about.

Skinner by Charlie Huston

Charlie Huston’s clever prose, interesting characters, and Tarantino-esque dialogue have made him a rising star in the world of crime fiction. In his latest novel we meet Skinner, a CIA operative with a history of brutal efficiency, who will stop at nothing to ensure the safety of his assets. One part Le Carre style spy thriller with a dose of William Gibson’s cyber-philosophy, Skinner is an exciting and terrifying look into the potential future of our world.

Advertisements

One thought on “Chris’ Top 5 Books of 2013 (so far)

  1. I love psychological thrillers and I am always looking for ones out there with decent character development and I do also love a good twist ending! I will definitely check out “Skinner” (I love Quentin Tarantino’s dialogue!). I thought I would recommend a fantastic murder mystery/psychological thriller called “The Gemini Factor” by author Philip Fleishman (http://www.philipfleishmanmd.com/). This book features two detectives in two different countries dealing with identical murders and come to find out later, they are living very similar lives too! The book has so many twists and turns that I couldn’t put it down and the ending blew me away. It is the author’s first novel, and he is already being compared to Michael Crichton and Robin Cook! I highly recommend it and maybe you’ll add it to your next list!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s